impromptu 

    
If I went wild on Saturday with my gang of kindred spirits right on the edge of the island, admiring with awe the raw beauty of returning Red-Throated Divers reinstated on their summer lochs & lochans, those everlasting mesmerising cliffs battered by time, salt & ocean, and listened to skylarks at the narrowest isthmus- yes, the world famous Mavis Grind – where the strongest of us might be able to throw a stone in both the North Sea & Atlantic, Sunday was tossed like a pancake, with Force 12 winds battering us as if we were still in winter…

To sum it up, here comes a short piece from my pen.

Easter by the Hearth

Wild, 

impromptu, 

unwanted gale that

tossed our season inside out –

my westside windows 

filled with salt,

I imagine

silent skylarks

tucked in imaginary grass

voar needs to weave

in between 

storms

and

seas of glass…

Until Monday’s final hours,

body & heart inside Shetland’s

finest of wool.

© Nat Hall 2016 

3 Comments

Filed under 2016, 60N, Arcania, atlantic, blogging, earth, fire, geopoetics, home, island, life, north, poet, poetry, scotland, shetland, shore, spirit, spring, wind

3 responses to “impromptu 

  1. Love it Nat. Could feel myself being buffeted while I read 🙂

    • Thank you very kindly, Andy. 🙂 The flying hellery has started to ease a bit now… When I wished for clearer skies last night, I did not imagine such storm force winds and lashing rain! I need clear skies Tuesday at dawn. With best wishes for Easter 🙂 N

      • Yes, we have had an Easter Day consisting of rain, hail, thunder and wind. (Secretly, I love it!) Season’s Greetings to you, too.

Leave a Reply

