simmer o snaa

50 Words for Snow e-And Beltane felt like Yule!

Unexpected,

snowflakes,

yes, snowflakes at Beltane, 1 May, equidistant between the Vernal Equinox & Summer Solstice. Oh, not the kind of snowstorm Bergen endeavoured yesterday, but still, snowflakes… April was so luminous and dry. So dry, the archipelago turned a northern savannah, so brownish-yellow hillsides, cliffs and ditches tainted themselves in pale yellow. I heard Scotland suffered from heather fires, as estate keepers lost control of their man-managed fires in order to rejuvenate moorlands. On my island, lack of rain delayed the long-awaited start to the palette of summer. Marsh marigold, celandine, May flooer (Primrose) and dandelions needed water to unearth themselves from a much thirsty ground.

You would not think it…

Argh, my Nordic sky has since changed to bring us back some degree of lushness. Yellow (from wild flowers) and green have resumed their seasonal dominance, well, at least around meadows, now filled with birds avid to breed in a cold spring, voar. All our seabirds have now returned – from the auk family to the longitude travellers, yes, Arctic (and common) Terns, via the skuas (Bonxie & skooty allin, Great & Artic, respectively)! Last Saturday, my first Northern Wheatear… Yesterday, on my way to the Atlantic side, I saw my first swallow of the season – then, another on my way to school this morning. Swallows, summer visitors with so much grace. This took me back to Kate’s Night Of The Swallows for a micro-second… Extraordinary travellers, our avian friends, and so inspirational 🙂

…Oh, Night of the Swallows, here –

Morning Swallows [e-format]

NIGHT OF THE SWALLOWS 

But then again, as I type, I am delving into the Sky of Honey!

starlings in the sun The garden is frantic, with an army of house sparrows, blackbirds, robins, wrens and starlings, so familiar all year round, surrounded by spring soundscapes – drumming snipes, crooning curlews, laughing maa (herring gulls!), deafening shalders (oystercatchers), redshanks, and still, greylags flying over heads… My sky in spring just fills my world with birds! Morning chorus so cacophonous! Earlier on this evening, I watched more courting birds, rock doves and sparrows. If the former evolves graciously en pas de deux, Mr Sparrow turns out to be a heck of a tail lifter! If I still nail apples to the edge of the composter and hang fat balls, I added a small bird feeder to one of my growing trees (yes, trees, since they are now taller than I!) …Well, well, well, well! Happy garden dwellers! 🙂 Ha, the garden looks still very wild. I thought of resuming moth trapping, but then again, dreich (dreary weather) & near gales have forced me to postpone. Grass needs cutting (serious cutting!) and I still have to re-paint the deck in my favourite blue.

en passant

UPDATE ON A FEW BITS and BOLTS

ArtiPeeps’ project “Transformations” (collective re-writing of Ovid’s “Metamorphoses”) is a challenge!

& new collaboration with neon artist Lili Morgan (Watch This Space!)

Profile page at Shetland Arts’ Creative List

Reading at the Shetland Boat Show 2013 (18-19 May 2013) & a literature project off the ground at Westside level… More details later on.

Yes, everyday stretches like a rubberband! 

2 Comments

Filed under 2013, 60N, Arcania, atlantic, birds, boats, geopoetics, home, images, island, poetry, shetland, shore, snow

2 responses to “simmer o snaa

  1. Our garden grass needs cutting already too, but we’ve been using the excuse that it’s wet outside not to. So lovely with the influx of birds, isn’t it 🙂 Musical!

    • Same here, E, and I need an industrial strimmer too! Wet, dreich, gales, cold and exam season at school, as another excuse for me… (writing and blogging could be added too, mind you…………) And yes, our sky’s turned into the Royal Albert Hall! Thanking you kindly for dropping in ;-)Greetings fae Sandwick!

Leave a Reply

